Pre-Start Routine/Ritual

Begin to sketch out your exact pre start routine. Think about what you do when you arrive at the park, when do you start stretching (ex. 45 minutes before 1st pitch), what is your personal blood flow circuit/ routine you do to get your body warm, and when do you begin to throw? How much time do you need to get loose on the mound? How much time before start time will you leave yourself to get loose on the mound, etc.
You can set up an outline. Left side of paper you can have an idea of your routine, and on the right you can indicate time needed.

Trevor Bauer’s Pregame:
What is your pregame ritual now?

I usually go out for a game about an hour and 20 minutes beforehand to do all my warm-ups. So about two hours and 20 minutes before a game, I’ll put on my pregame playlist, get dressed and just kind of hang out in my locker. I watch a video of myself striking people out from earlier this year, put myself in a positive mindset, watch myself be successful over and over, watch some video of mechanics and go over my keys for the game, such as, “OK, I’ve got to use my backside” or “I’ve got to use glove-side.”

Leave a Comment